Diary Of A Fashion Designer: #WWD Magic Market Week Day 2 PLATFORM-Shoes

Standard

I came here to learn what the trends are, where the industry is going, source fabric/supplies/new brands for a new store, learn about new technology, e-commerce and to network. But I had the oppurtunity to experience shoe merchandising at PLATFORM.

The shoe portion of the show is a whole different monster. I am drowning in footwear right now. This section is very chic, sleek, and on point. The diversity at Platform is what draws the buyers. No matter what you’re looking for, it’s here, and ready to be bought.…

Now I have to do some research on the shoe market. I met some shoe designers and manufacturers who I’ll be doing business with in the future. I like that they are open minded enough to deal with a small up and coming business like mine. But I guess that’s how any industry grows, by building relationships with up-and comers, while maintaining relationships with veterans. It’s crazy, I love shoes, but I don’t want to see a shoe store for a long time. However, I noticed that the show floor has more money flowing than any other place. Deals are going on all around me and it’s buzzing with activity. Once my brand gains momentum, it will me time to consider designing shoes to match my purses… stay tuned, MUAH aaand scene.

Leave a Reply

