Diary Of A Fashion Designer: #WWDMagicMarketWeek day 3

So, the show is over and it’s time to go back to work. I have hours, if not a few days worth of paperwork, however, everything from here on out will take my brand to the next level. This show is about gaining knowledge, making connections, and gauging whether or not you have what it takes to make it in the industry. At this point, someone from the show told me I have the whole package, and I’m going to roll with that.

I was impressed by the magnitude of the booths, and the showmanship of the brands; but not the product. It was also surprising how rude some of the vendors were. I had money to spend but when I did see some things I wanted for my store, the vendors were just so non-personable, I see why some brands struggle and never get off the ground. Every seminar talked about customer service, and I guess those guys didn’t get the memo. The menswear side of things was weird, this skinny jean and tight shirt look ruled this year and I don’t like it. I feel sorry for the guys, their fashion outlook is somewhat drab. Even the urban-wear was too metro-sexual for my taste, I prefer a more masculine look, with more color. But I’m open to it if they add some “ease” to the stylelines and silhouettes.

What have I learned? As I may have stated earlier I learned first hand about doing business in China, labor laws, copyrights, trademarks, patents, trends, online retailing, and most importantly I found out where the money is. Because isn’t that the bottom line of any business venture? In the coming weeks I’ll be breaking down all this information and sharing it in these blogs, because I’m sure there are designers out there who just couldn’t make it to this event, and I’ve been in their shoes. So I want to give them just a little piece of what I have, which is the tools to go from chasing a dream, to catching up to reality…stay tuned, MUAH aaand scene.

For my latest vlog go to FB @ http://www.facebook.com/katera.dinero

Follow me on TWITTER @ http://www.twitter.com/TSXDesignHouse

Check out my portfolio @ http://www.talenthouse.com/ebonyadelltsxdesignhouse

Published by:

ebonyadell

Ebony is a writer, fashion designer, artist, substitute teacher, and mother of 3. She has over 150 published pieces of content on the web in the following categories: fashion, business, technology, and art. Adell graduated from Mount Mary University with a Bachelor Of Arts in Apparel Product Development in 2008.

Categories UncategorizedLeave a comment

Leave a Reply

