Diary Of A Fashion Designer: Confidence & Endurance

06show      Stay cool. That’s what I have to keep telling myself, as I continue on this journey. I’ve been praying a lot lately, needing some guidance other than a few words of advice, or a hundred results from a Google search. Some days I feel like I’m so close to making it. The other days it seems as if I’m just going through the motions, spinning. A better way to describe the feeling is frantically scrambling through an endless tunnel with no end in sight. But I know that for truly successful people, ones that make an impact in their field, and in this world; the grinding never stops.

1. Believe In Yourself

If you don’t believe in yourself nobody else will. Confidence is what attracts buyers, consumers, partners, investors, and customers. Nobody buys products that are promoted  by a spokesperson that says “This product might work, I’m not sure it’s that great.” So you have to walk, talk, eat, breathe and represent your brand identity, at all times, like it’s the best thing since sliced bread. Think back to what your original vision encompasses, identify and appreciate what has gotten you this far. Those same principles can carry you until the end.

2. Don’t Be Afraid Of Failure

Don’t be afraid of failure. Scientists perform experiments hundreds of times before they figure out what works. Those aren’t considered failures, it’s all trial and error. What you may consider a failure, may actually save you from moving forward with something that never would have worked in the first place.

3. Go Back To Square One

When something doesn’t work, you should always go back and refer to a point in the process that worked, and review the steps you took. Take those same steps again, you should get the same results.

4. Remember Rome Wasn’t Built In A Day

The mighty republic of Rome was not built in a day. It took a lot of trial and error for them to become one of the most powerful empires in the world. Your empire can’t be built in one day either. My dream can’t be realized in one day, it’s too big, too major to be shortchanged because I’m trying to rush it. Every move has to be strategic, every step productive, and every risk calculated.

5. Work Hard, Play Hard 

Take a break to clear your mind. Find an outlet when you feel overwhelmed. I like naps, baking, chilling with my kids, spending time with my boyfriend, and going out once in awhile to break it down to the ground(that’s dancing). I work hard, so I try to play hard when I can. When I get back to work my mind is clear enough for me to receive and create the next project.

Doubt is not meant to throw you off your square. It’s suppose to help you re-affirm your belief. One can’t exist without the other. So you can’t get scared off when the road gets rough, you have to stay focused on what brought you to this point. Winners don’t move forward driving backwards, they just check that rearview mirror every now and then. Stay tuned, MUAH aaand scene.

TSX Design House

Beyond New Style, Where Fashion Is Art In 3D

Leave a Reply

