Diary Of A Fashion Designer: WWDMagic Seminar Series-Fashion Tales: Creating a Compelling Product and Taking It To Market

Standard

S/o to #BlaineVossler of #TheLocalBranch …#MadeInAmerica #awesome #MagicReady #fashion #urbancouturelife

A post shared by Ebony Adell (@tsx_design_house) on

  Me and Blaine Vossler @ WWDMagic 2015

nab-1.jpgMAGIC seminar series is a series of professional education seminars and panels where you, the buyer/retailer/designer/whoever you are in your supply chain, can go and get “schooled” on the latest trends and practices in the industry. The question that seemed to be on everybody’s mind that I talked to was, “How do I get money/investors to start my line or launch my brand?” Now, the four days I’m in Vegas for the show I always learn a lot. But a few key pieces of information always impact me more than others. This time around, one of the most important pieces of advice I picked up was to learn to tell my story.

What’s Your Story?

Every brand has a story, do you know how to tell yours ? Well that’s the thing, you think you know how, but ask yourself if you’re effectively telling your story to get the results you want. If investors aren’t breaking down the door to give you money then the answer is no! Barbara Ende hosted a seminar and panel entitled “Fashion Tales: Creating A Compelling Product and Taking It to Market” with guest speakers Sherry West founder of Daisy & Blue, Blaine Vossler co-founder of The Local Branch, and Jay Halistein co-founder of Brass Clothing. All three successfully have launched new brands; young companies with strong stories.

Telling your story is where it all begins, If you can’t verbally, visually, and emphatically express the personality, foundation, and history of your brand you’re screwed no matter how great your product may be. So how do you tell your story and get the money to make something happen?

1. Know the difference between storytelling and storymaking

Storytelling is just the repeating, improvisation, embellishment, or sharing of a story. You tell somebody your story, they listen and possibly repeat whatever you said to somebody else. Story making is when you create a story that the consumer wants to engage in and become a part of. They want to finish the story and make their own story based on the customer experience.

2. Crowdfunding

Use crowdfunding to raise money. Retailers speak to customers through floor displays, ads, and commercials; attempting to make an emotional connection. Written content, video, pictures, and whatever other creative elements all support the cause and assist in

Blaine Vossler shared that his company spent a full year creating their KICKSTARTER campaign before they attempted to raise money online. His story was a part of that campaign and I can attest to how compelling it was. Told through film/video, it was the story of how the brandGO F started, inspirations behind their products and reflected their pride of being Made In America.

Sherry West of Daisy&Blu chose animation as the media to tell her story. Intertwined with strategic placement. Of trademark characters and two staple products. As a mother, her story made me want to buy that soft, song soothing blanket to wrap my baby in and put him to sleep. The imagery appeals to the consumer across language barriers by using universal imagery, and draws them in.

 

3. Choose your platform carefully

All platform are created equal in the sense that you create an account, profile, launch a campaign, and try to raise the money. But you can’t just copy and paste your Facebook “About Me” section into the information section of your fundraising site.

3 well known crowdfunding sites with proven success rates are:

KICKSTARTER is the number one crowdfunding platform. However if you do not reach you full fundraising goal you forfeit the money back to the donors.

GOFUNDME and INDIEGOGO are similar Kickstarter but you get to keep all the donations you receive

 

4. Don’t be afraid to tell it all

You can’t be afraid to tell your whole story, no holds barred. Investors, customers, donors all want to know if you really have that drive, can you really deliver, where are you’re coming from, what brought you here, how you were inspired, and why they should trust you.

What’s My Story?

Ever since the seminar, I have been thinking so hard about how to tell my own story. The truth is that I ve been hesitant to really, truly open up about why and how I got to where I am today. I didn’t want to be judged, only respected for my work. But that’s not how it goes. My customer transcends trends, and loves a story when the Phoenix rises from the ashes. To commit to my brand they want to know the authentic, compelling reasons why TSX Design House deserves to be considered a luxury brand they should be loyal to. Why did I really choose the name TSX Design House? Why a focus on Tantric Sex, why chakras, why color?

To begin, TSX stands for Tantric Sex. I use the term “design house” because I’m not a certified “atelier”. chose that name because number one, as an adult entertainer selling the fantasy of sex and sensuality, I was looking for something deeper in my personal sexual relationships. After some research I decided to begin to practice and then eventually teach Tantric Sex practices. I discovered while learning the basics that clothes were considered a part of your body adornment, they reflect your aura and chakras, and body adornment is how you attract and entice your mate. In addition, the way you dress affects how people receive you………… to learn more about my story Stay Tuned for my KICKSTARTER campaign coming soon…MUAH aaaaaand scene

Follow me in TWITTER and IG@TSXDesignHouse

TSX Design House Commercial

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

