Urban Couture Life: 2016 Review, My World

WIN_20150219_123215 (6)I can’t say I’ve never been so happy for the year to end, but I’m not sad to put 2016 behind me. It’s been a year of many lessons, to be honest it’s been two years of too many lessons.

Lesson 1: Time Management

I have a brand new baby. Well she’s going on 1 now, and it’s definetly been a challenge trying to get anything done with a little one terrorizing me daily. If I’m sewing, she’s sewing, if I’m drawing, she’s drawing, if I’m cooking, she’s cooking and so on. That’s my little PrincessBabygirl. She just wants to play and cuddle with mommy all day and all night. Now I have 3 kids and with the new baby I’ve had to reevaluate my time management skills.  I’ve learned how to work in my off peak hours and make more of my work time. I plan out those precious hours to get the most work done and still spend plenty of time with the kids.

Lesson 2: Social Media Restrictions

I’ve had to restrict my soical media time. I was wasting too much time watching pointless videos, and trolling the platforms. I wasn’t even posting constructively for marketing puposes. I found I was too tired to get up and do anything, even think. So I would aimlessly surf the web. Now I’ve been actively restricting my internet use focusing on doing something productive.

Lesson 3: Take a Nap

Working full-time, managing a family, breastfeeding a baby, and managing a business calls for a catnap every now and then. I prefer to call it a power nap. These things literally suck the life out of me sometimes. So in order to be at my best, I have to plan and nap accordingly. Some days I may only get 3 or 4 hours of sleep but the show must go on, and it has to be all good.

Lesson 4: Love Does Not Conquer All

I’ve also come to the conclusion that I can’t pursue love and a career in fashion at the same time. I love love, but at this point I can’t be worried about it. Between these kids, work, and the business, I don’t have an extra minute to meet people. I have to focus. In 2015 and 2016 I gave it a try but it took too much out of me, it’s too hard to balance. My physical, mental and professional suffered. Right now, love is on the back burner.

Lesson 5: Get happy

The last thing I learned in 2016 is to truly be sucessful i need to get happy. I have to go into the new year respecting my position and just being happy in my own skin. I love what’s going on in my life and I’m ready to take it to the next level. I though I was ready before, but I think the time is now. Stay Tuned……………….MUAH aaaaaaaaaaad scene.

Transcend The Trends; Beyond New Style, Where Fashion Is Art In 3d

nab-1.jpg

 

 

Published by:

ebonyadell

Ebony is a writer, fashion designer, artist, substitute teacher, and mother of 3. She has over 150 published pieces of content on the web in the following categories: fashion, business, technology, and art. Adell graduated from Mount Mary University with a Bachelor Of Arts in Apparel Product Development in 2008.

Categories UncategorizedLeave a comment

Leave a Reply

